Selecting instrumentation: Traditional microscopes vs "imagers"

Hello everyone, a bit of a philosophical discussion on instrumentation here.

Do you find that traditional microscopes have relevance in the age of automated microscopy?

I’m currently working in an industrial preclinical research setting, where fully-automated “confocal imagers” are favored over classical microscopes. They are incredibly efficient for common high-throughput screening applications. However, my background is in traditional confocal microscopy, and I do see where these automated instruments are limiting. They don’t match high-powered microscopes in terms of quality, resolution, and applications requiring flexibility.

For mechanistic projects that require high resolution and active (not automated) sample investigation, a traditional confocal platform suits these needs well.

My work involves investigating rare events. Imagers generally lack eyepieces and interactive motorized stages, so acquisition relies on field sampling. The lack of the ability to progressively scan through magnifications, as one would with a traditional scope, means that these events may be missed-- especially when starting from high magnification, as these imagers do. It seems wasteful to scan an entire sample at several Zs, just to detect rare events, especially when this can be more efficiently achieved with progressive magnification by an active human operator. The same could be applied to histological studies for investigation of specific tissue areas.

Most modern confocal microscope platforms have automatic high-content capabilities, as well, so they offer the best of both worlds.

I realize that this is a broad comparison of two very different imaging approaches, but I’m trying to build a case for the relevance of traditional microscopy, especially in industrial settings.