Open software similar to NIS-Elements AR

Hello guys,
I am a beginner in microscopy and I need to analyse some data from live imaging from a spinning disk scope (BC43). I really like NIS-Elements AR software, where I anaysed some nd2 files as videos basically. You can really have all the feautures below the screen, like time, tiles, z-stacks and stop and run it as you like. Do you know if there is a similar software for BC43 (Andor) microscope? Preferably as open source, so I dont need to pay for a license.

Thanks a lot! Happy to hear your suggestions.

FYI: Software questions will see a broader range of subject matter experts over at forum.image.sc

Have you checked out Fiji/ImageJ? For highly complex datasets, like 3D tiles over time, it might not work as easily “out-of-the-box” as the instrument-specific software since those softwares are co-engineered with the file type. But for simple to moderately complex datasets it can be quite powerful. Since it is open source and costs you no money it often is not quote as user friendly as the commercial solutions, but it’s amazing once you get the hang of it. There’s a lot of online instructional material and forum.image.sc has loads of information and folks willing to help.

If you’re into coding, napari is a Python based package and they just launched a portal for ImageJ to expand capabilities. I have not used this myself so will rely on others to compare and contrast.

Hi there! Great, thank you very much for the information given! I have tried Fiji indeed. As you said it is nice but not so user friendly. But open source. Thank you as well for the forum.image.sc suggestion.