Image Acquisition with Micro-Manager in Scanning Confocal Microscopy

Dear All,

I am relatively new to controlling microscopes via Micro-Manager and am looking for a bit of help. I have a scanning confocal microscope (based on IX81 Olympus system), and I have successfully been able to control things like the microscope stage and objective carousel, however I cannot seem to acquire images.
I am assuming that this comes down to the fact that I don’t have a camera attached but rather 4 separate PMTs. Is it possible to acquire data from PMTs as if they were cameras? I checked micro-manager’s list of supported hardware and there didn’t seem to be anything there. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

To provide some context, I am attempting to automate some experiments I am doing. Currently our system comprises of a source meter, lock-in amplifier, automatic syringe pump, and an arduino, all of which are controlled through Python. I know it is possible to control micro-manager through Python also, the only missing component is my ability to obtain images! :rofl::sob:

What is your computer interface to the PMTs (i.e., what kind of card samples the PMTs and translates voltages into pixel values)? Micro-Manager has support for BitFlow cards that interface with 4 PMTs in a device adapter named “TwoPhoton”. I have no experience with this equipment myself. Also, Mark Tsuchida (now at Univ. of Wisconsin, Madison) has been working on more general Open Source support for scanning approaches. Not sure if he is on this forum.

Hi Nico,

Thanks for your reply. I am not sure on the card as I haven’t dug into the hardware much yet, as I haven’t really been sure what to look for in the first place.