Basic microscopy Questions about building

Hello everyone,
Ive recently been tasked with building an inverted objective-tirf microscope. Im rather new to this so im learning by doing. I have built the system and aligned the laser, as far as I know. After aligning everything and connecting the cameras and hardware, I decided to do some test images. However, these images are a little strange. Perhaps you could help me out. The images were taken in the epifluorescence position (e. g the laser shining directly through the sample) with just a solution of fluorophores and with a solution of tetra speck beads. When imaged I just get a blob, which is expected for the fluorophore solution but not for the tetraspeck. theres also a strange pattern that I can’t quite identify even after messing with the optics more. Ive uploaded the images and a rough sketch of the setup. I appreciate any input.

Is this fully custom microscope? Or was it built off a standard microscope body, such as an Olympus or Nikon inverted microscope?

My guess is that what you are seeing is scattered light that is passing through your fluorescence filters, but it’s really hard to say from the image you show. What are the different filters and dichroics you are using? For example “Chroma AT435lp”.

hey thanks for the response. It’s full homebuilt. I have this one at the intersection of the emission and excitation path ( zt375/473/532/635rpc). I have these in the excitation path to bring the lasers in the path. And I took the rest along the excitation path away, to test just a single laser.

now, that I think about it, that could be the problem, That I didnt have any downstream of the intersection one. :man_facepalming:

Yes, the emission filter is very important. A dichroic alone does not block a sufficient amount of the excitation light.