Any experience with imaging U-bottom polystyrene wells?

Hello everyone,

I’m a biologist and new to this forum. I’ve encountered a microscopy challenge and would appreciate any ideas to tackling it.

I need to image bacterial colonies that grow across the curved surface of U-bottom polystyrene wells in 96-well plates. I’d like to obtain an overview image of the wells to map colony morphology, that is, to differentiate features in the size range of hundreds of micrometer. There’s no need for high magnification optics. Obviously, since growth does not occur on a flat plane in this setting, regular microscopy objectives or macrophotography lenses produce images with only a segment of the image in-focus. Unfortunately, for this experiment it is not an option to use regular flat-bottom wells.

I have experimented with automated scanning wells using a 4x microscopy objective, capturing image stacks in Z direction. The image stacks can be turned into an in-focus image using focus stacking. These can then be stitched to create an overview image of the well. This produces satisfactory results with regards to image resolution. However, this procedure is quite time-consuming, both in obtaining X-Y-Z images, and in manual focus stacking - so far I’ve only found consumer-type applications like Photoshop or Zerenestacker for this purpose. Ideally I’d need to scale this to many wells and experiments, so I’m looking for an optimized solution.