Looking for low cost camera water cooler recommendations

We have a couple of Thermo Cube chillers that work reasonably well, but I would like to water cool another couple of cameras (Andor EM CCDs) without spending ~$3k, and I am pretty sure that people have been successful with water coolers made for gaming PCs. Does anyone have experience with these and/or recommendations?

I have some experience with Koolance systems. I used the EX2-1055 (currently $415) to chill two Flash V2+ cameras (daisy chained). Their cheapest model is around $300, which might be enough depending on your ambient temperature and needs (it’s rated at 400W, whereas the 1055 above is 900W). I was cooling sCMOS, not EMCCD… so perhaps your application would be more demanding.

Temperature-wise, it kept things at spec for me (according to the temperature readout in the software). I did still suffer from some vibrations, but it’s hard to say whether that was due to the cooler or not (this was on a dispim, and I feel like those cameras are particularly prone to vibrations,due to their arrangement… also, I’m not entirely sure whether it’s reasonable to expect complete absence of vibration with liquid moving through the cameras?)

For what it’s worth, the EX2-1055 is the same chiller that GE used on their OMX V3/V4, and I have a couple there as well that have been each chilling two cameras for a few years now. In that time, I needed to replace one due to an electronics failure. no complaints about the customer service.

3 Likes

Awesome! Ordered an EX2-1055. Happy to report back how it goes. diSPIM is indeed quite prone to vibrations. We have ours liquid cooled (using a Thermo Cube), and also see vibrations. I doubt that the liquid flow through the camera contributes, but quite sure that we would see less by using a heavier air table (in fact, weighing it down with lead bricks helped quite a bit), and being in the basement rather than at the 3d floor (not going to happen;( )

1 Like